February 27, 2013

Board Meeting Minutes

February 27

The regular meeting of the Village of Divernon Board of Trustees was held on Wednesday, February 27, 2013, at the Divernon Village Hall. Village President Randy Rhodes called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. After the Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all in attendance, Pam Cronister called roll: Melissa Layton “Here”, Pam Cronister “Here”, Jim Copelin “Here”, Larry Baer “Here”, Derek Hedges “Here”. Also in attendance were Police Chief Barclay Harris and Superintendent Larry Rhodes. Dianne Brenning was absent. Rod Molnar arrived at 8:15 p.m.

A motion was made by Hedges to approve the minutes of February 13, 2013. Layton seconded and the motion passed 5-0.

Baer presented the Village bills with a motion that they be approved. After Copelin seconded the motion, it was approved 5-0.

Superintendent Report:

A stop sign at the corner of State and Dodd’s Streets fell through a window at Herman’s Garage. It may have been hit by a snow plow.

Police Report:

A light bar has been replaced on one of the department’s squad cars. Officer Price attended training for breathalyzer testing operation. Chief Harris advised the Board on the Sangamon County Public Health Department regulations concerning residents allowed in a dwelling. The rule is a maximum of one resident per 200 square feet. The Board has received complaints regarding parking around the school during ballgames and also in the area of Herman’s Garage. Harris advised that fines would be based upon the State of Illinois parking regulations.

Committee Reports:

Streets, Alleys, and Utilities:

Cronister gave a report on the Citizen’s Efficiency Committee meeting held on February 26, 2013. The meeting was to provide updates regarding the electric aggregation program. The Village of Divernon had the second of their two mandated public hearings prior to the regular meeting. Mark Pruitt, the consultant representing the Sangamon County Electric Aggregation Consortium was in attendance to answer questions. The Board passed each of the following five items 5-0 as a requirement to implement aggregation:

Ordinance Number 2013-001, an Ordinance Approving the Village of Divernon Electric Power Aggregation Plan of Operation and Governance. The motion to approve was made by Hedges and seconded by Baer.

Resolution 2013-002, A Resolution Approving a Contract for the Provision of Electricity for the Village’s Electricity Aggregation Program and Authorizing the President to Execute Documentation to Secure a Final Electricity Price for the Program. The motion to approve was made by Cronister and seconded by Layton.

Resolution 2013-003, a Resolution Authorizing Execution of an Intergovernmental Agreement Establishing the Sangamon County Electric Aggregation Consortium. The motion to approve was made by Baer and seconded by Copelin.

An Intergovernmental Agreement Establishing the Sangamon County Electricity Aggregation Consortium Between and Among the City of Auburn, the Villages of Buffalo, Cantrall, Dawson, Divernon, Grandview, Illiopolis, Mechanicsburg, New Berlin, Pawnee, Pleasant Plains, Rochester, Sherman, Spaulding, Williamsville, and the County of Sangamon. The motion to approve was made by Cronister and seconded by Layton.

A Work Contract Between Sangamon County Electric Aggregation Consortium and Illinois Community Choice Aggregation Network (ICCAN). The motion to approve was made by Hedges and seconded by Copelin.


Nothing to report.


Nothing to report.

Health and Safety:

Nothing to report.

Community Development:

Layton reported that she had some business’s interested in advertising in the Village Newsletter. It was decided to charge $25.00 per ad. She also reported that she is looking into getting new trash totes for the Village square.

Building Grounds and Lights:

Hedges will contact Banyon concerning some outstanding issues with the accounting software.

Old Business:

Sterling is working on the codification of Village ordinances and will be in touch concerning questions they may have.

New Business:

A motion was made by Baer and seconded by Layton to donate $25.00 to the Divernon Jr. Girl Scouts. They will be in charge of the annual Easter egg hunt this year.

Motion by Layton to adjourn at 8:43 p.m.

Randy Rhodes Rodney Molnar

Village President Village Clerk

Back to:
Board Info