July 22, 2015

Board Meeting Minutes

Minutes July 22, 2015 Page 3464

The regular meeting of the Village of Divernon Board of Trustees was held on Wednesday, July 22, 2015 at the Divernon Village Hall. Mayor Randy Rhodes called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. After the Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all in attendance, Mayor Randy Rhodes called roll: Randy Rhodes “Here”, Dianne Brenning “Here”, Melissa Layton “Here”, Jamie Morgan “Here”. Also in attendance were Police Chief Barclay Harris and Jeremy Rhodes. Derek Hedges, Larry Baer and Rod Molnar were absent. Jim Copelin arrived at 6:34 p.m.

Minutes of July 8, 2015 was tabled until Copelin arrived to have a vote taken.

Brenning presented the Village bills with a motion that they be approved, after the motion seconded by Layton, it passed 4-0, with Mayor voting.

A motion was made by Copelin to approve the minutes of July 8, 2015. Morgan seconded and the motion passed 4-0-1 Present -Layton, with Mayor voting.

David Catlin was present and asked the board on his zoning permit if the fees could be waived, the liquor and gaming fees waived, and if we could bypass the Sangamon County building inspectors if he would provide licensed contractors to do the work. Catlin stated they have had past experience with the inspectors and they were not very timely on other projects. The board stated they would not waive these fees. Mayor Rhodes asked Catlin to let him know if problems arise from dealing with the inspectors.

Supervisors Reports:

Public Works:

He also gave reports of dead trees on village properties that need to be removed. He updated the Board on the Corn Silk water issue on a homeowner’s property. He also advised of the toddlers swings that needed replaced in the Village Park at a cost of $105.71 each. The Board agreed with him to get them replaced. He gave his approval for the Zoning/Building permit for 220 South First Street and now Board approval is needed because it is a commercial building.

Police Report:

Chief Harris discussed an issue with the pay of one of his officers. He stated the Safe House sign on Brown Street needed removed, since it was not legible to read, and wanted to know if the Board wanted it replaced and if the program was still viable here. The Board said yes to replacing the sign and information will be added to Web site and Newsletter. The Chief updated Board on recent police activities.

Committee Reports:

Economic Development, Zoning, TIF, Building Permits:

Nothing to report.

Public Utilities, Water, Sewer and Gas:

Brenning stated that a representative of Badger Meters will be at the August 12th meeting to discuss their program.

Minutes July 22, 2015 Page 3465

Finance, Personnel, Technology, GIS:

Nothing to report.

Public Safety, Police, Health and Safety:

Nothing to report.

Public Works, Streets, Alleys and Sidewalks:

Copelin and R. Rhodes are working on the tree trimming list. A discussion on fees for a demolition permit, will be added to agenda next meeting for a vote. A discussion was held concerning complaints from public about cleaning up community.

Building Grounds and Lights, Parks, Recreation:

Work still needs done on the bricks around the Welcome to Divernon sign, Jeremy will have public works look at it first to see what needs to be done. Layton asked for newsletter items from everyone soon for the next one to be published. She is getting costs for the Pavilion update.

Old Business:

Motion by Layton to approve Ordinance 2015-006 regarding the Catlin TIF agreement. After the motion was seconded by Morgan, it passed 4-0.

Motion by Copelin to approve the Redevelopment Contract on the Catlin TIF project. After the motion was seconded by Layton, it passed 4-0.

New Business:

Motion by Layton to approve the Catlin Zoning Permit with a fee of $150.00. After the motion was seconded by Copelin, it passed 4-0.

Motion by Layton to go into executive session to discuss personnel at 8:00 pm.

The Board returned to regular session at 8:13 pm.

Motion by Morgan to adjourn at 8:14 pm.

Randy Rhodes Rodney Molnar

Village President Village Clerk

Back to:
Board Info